Firms recognized for demonstrating design leadership in Bay Area projects

The Harvey B. Milk Terminal by Gensler Kuth Ranieri Joint Venture, HKS, Woods Bagot, ED2, KYA, and Hamilton + Aitken Architects. Photo by Jason O’Rear Photography

The American Institute of Architects San Francisco (AIASF) recognized more than two dozen architectural firms at this year’s Design Awards event.

The winners represented a diverse range of project types highlighting the Bay Area’s rich history of design leadership. Award recipients included Perkins&Will, Gensler, Faulkner Architects, JENSEN Architects, Field Architecture, EID Architects, Mork-Ulnes Architects, Michael Hennessey Architecture, Schwartz and Architecture, Axelrod Design, Aidlin Darling Design, Sidell Pakravan, JaJaCo, SAW // Spiegel Aihara Workshop, San Francisco Public Works, Bureau of Architecture, David Baker Architects with Cervantes Design Associates, Group, 4 Architecture, Research + Planning Inc., Integrus Architecture, CMG Landscape Architecture, and WRNS Studio.

Additionally, AIASF’s People’s Choice Awards in Architecture recognized one project in each of two categories: projects with budgets over $10 million, and projects with budgets under $10 million. This year’s recipients included the Harvey B. Milk Terminal in the “over $10 million” category, a project by Gensler in a joint venture with Kuth Ranieri, HKS, Woods Bagot, ED2, KYA, and Hamilton + Aitken Architects; and the Brisbane Library in the “under $10 million” category, a project by Siegel & Strain Architects and Karin Payson architecture + design.

AIASF’s Design Awards program recognizes the achievements in architecture and design of Bay Area individuals and organizations. It celebrates architectural design as well as the work of allied professionals from afar who contribute to the framework of the local built environment. The program serves to inform the public of the breadth and value of the architectural practice.

The awards ceremony was the chapter’s first in-person event since the beginning of the pandemic in 2020.

A full list of AIASF’s 2022 Design Award recipients can be found here.

Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published.