Testing Glazing in the Field: Performance Classes

Up until the 2008 edition of American Architectural Manufacturers Association/Window and Door Manufacturers Association/Canadian Standards Association (AAMA/WDMA/CSA) 101/I.S.2/A440, North American Fenestration Standard/Specification for Windows, Doors, and Skylights (NAFS), there were five performances classes of windows with differing requirements for test pressures, allowed leakage rates, and other variables. The current four types, and their minimum performance grades are:

  • R ([15 psf]);
  • LC ([25 psf]);
  • CW ([30 psf]); and
  • AW ([40 psf]).

Water penetration resistance test pressure (for laboratories) is 15 percent of the performance grade for R, LC, and CW classes; 20 percent for the AW Class.

To read the full article, click here.

Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *